top of page
Search

February 2020 Newsletter

  • The monkey painting with the Anthurium

  • 5 new artworks so far and 3 unfinished sketches

  • An upcoming exhibition in Shefield, UK

  • Many orders for prints on Etsy

  • New inspiration after a looong creative winter

  • Interview on the National Radio

  • Painting with watercolor on wood or Modern Fresco


So this month has started with a lot of orders on Etsy and a possibility for an Exhibition in Shefield, UK. Also, the end of 2019 was filled with personal things, so I had almost no time to paint and create new art. Even my inspiration was low, as I call it - winter creative season, sometimes happens in summer as well.


Here you can see the set up, while painting from life one of my flowers - the pink Anthurium I have. The blossoms are not pink anymore, but it still looks lovely. The painting is the one with the monkeys.




This month was very fruitful artwise and when I look at the work I created I see it has something new in it, I am not sure if it is because of the new year or just me trying to figure out how I want to move on from where I am. Although I am not sure where I am.



Here you can see some photos from the process of the "Rainy Day" painting. I am very happy about the composition and the splashes that happened from working wet in wet for the larger areas (leaves for example).



And the radio interview - yes, it was the national Radio, but I have to admit, it will be broadcasted at night. I am still proud and it was a long one. It is in Bulgarian, but I would make a post with the highlights from it :)


*****************************

Also - I am very happy to announce that I started working on wood. The style is called Modern Fresco since the surface looks like a wall. It is a special ground that you apply on the wood and it behaves like paper. I was actually not expecting much from it, I have looked up photos and videos and it seemed like it is hard to work with and there is no room for scrubbing paint of or making these cool patterns that watercolor makes. I was wrong, the pigments float even better. And some other perks - it is possible to be left unframed, even without glass, the varnish will preserve the painting well enough.




And if you are interested in any of these artworks, contact me by email or on social media.

instagram: @violettbo


You can find my prints here:

thefirstgarden.etsy.com







14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page